Don’t Settle, Mr. Right

So I was watching Bachelor in Paradise Monday night and could not stop shaking my head at Izzy. Izzy and Vinny hit it off right away and seemed like a very solid couple. A few weeks go by and a guy finally comes to Paradise peeking Izzy’s interest. Izzy just has to talk to Brett to see if he’s worth the risk of letting go of her strong connection to Vinny. Vinny, not wanting to wait around on the Backburner, leaves Paradise.

Some more time goes by, Brett goes on a date with someone else and then tells Izzy that they just don’t have a strong enough connection. Izzy then departs from Paradise, realizing the mistake she made by letting Vinny go and tries to win him back via phone call. He shuts her down quickly, making the right decision in my opinion.

I met my own Vinny, my own Mr. Right. He was a great guy, treated me really well, and I would be a fool to let that go. But I did anyway.

I did it for the potential of Stubborn. Or maybe because Izzy and I have a lot in common and we did it because we didn’t want to end up ruining a great thing and getting left heartbroken. There’s a 75% chance that my Brett will go on a date with someone else that will end up outweighing my connection with him. But I guess that’s where my similarities with Izzy end.

I wouldn’t go back to Mr. Right. If one man was all it took for me to question my relationship enough to let it go then eventually, another man will come along giving me that same desire to risk it again. I think Izzy feared being alone more than she loved Vinny. I think Vinny realized that too and he wasn’t going to settle for someone who doesn’t truly love him.

I’m not going to settle and I don’t think Mr. Right should either.

 

Photo Credit

 

 

11 comments

  1. I dated the guys that I wasn’t going to marry but alluding to the lack of a long term relationship. If they are keen, they will take it for what it is but inevitably their feelings were hurt despite my up front honesty. Ah well, life is too short not to take a risk and have fun doing it.

    Like

      1. They both hoped I would change my mind (and I was dating them both at the same time openly). I am the sort of girl that makes up her mind immediately – married 34 years to someone I pounced on at a party.

        Like

Leave a Reply

