Even the Moon has Wreckage

 

I’m always testing the ones who love me

even though the number is few.

Sweet words are so foreign

I don’t trust them to be true.

I have scars that tell stories

and stories that tell scars.

The dark does not scare me

greeting each other like old friends.

No one understands me better.

 

But this darkness has nothing pretty about it.

So I compare it to the moon

showing the world pretty bright lights

and hiding a part of itself never to be seen.

Letting people in is so hard when you know

They are so likely to go

after rubbernecking at the wreckage.

And bruises fade faster if no one keeps pressing into them.

 

-March 2015

Photo Credit

5 comments

Leave a Reply

